1. Hello Guest! Did you know that we're also on Discord? You can join us here: https://discord.gg/vxqdaG4.
    Dismiss Notice

I bought a Project Diva Arcade Future Tone Cabinet!

Discussion in 'Project DIVA Arcade & Arcade Future Tone' started by N10248, Apr 22, 2020.

  1. N10248

    N10248 Intermediate Player

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    It's been 1 year today since my cabinet arrived and filled my living room up with parts...

    [​IMG]

    And I've just made a video showing the Nu system in detail with the modifications I've made to it...

     
    steelpuxnastik likes this.
  2. steelpuxnastik

    steelpuxnastik ShinSanwaSwitch is ready and working!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    170
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    useless piece of shit
    Location:
    Mykolaiv, Ukraine
    Home Page:
    https://www.instagram.com/jandevalua/
    Daaaamn, I thought you somehow decided to disassemble it again and I wanted to ask you to make scans of all pictures like you made scan on touch slider picture for me :) That was really useful, so I thought it's a big change to get another pictures :P but looks like no, because I think you will do not do it because of this :(
     
  3. N10248

    N10248 Intermediate Player

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Ha, this was on the day it arrived last year. I can however try to make some scans of the rest of the art.

    Until then, I've taken some head on pictures or most of the parts...
    https://mikucity.com/projectdiva/cabinet/closeup/

    Judging by the quality of the previous things i've scanned, many of these pictures appear clearer without the grain the scanner adds, especially the colour accuracy.
     
    steelpuxnastik likes this.
  4. steelpuxnastik

    steelpuxnastik ShinSanwaSwitch is ready and working!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    170
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    useless piece of shit
    Location:
    Mykolaiv, Ukraine
    Home Page:
    https://www.instagram.com/jandevalua/
    Wow, that's impressive photoes! Thanks!

    Yeah, but if to have first and second variants - it's the best to understand :)
     
  5. N10248

    N10248 Intermediate Player

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    I'll have a go at it during the week.
     
    steelpuxnastik likes this.
  6. N10248

    N10248 Intermediate Player

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    #86 N10248, Apr 21, 2021
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2021
    I've made some scans, some bits are blurry as the parts are too large to fit in the scanner and touch it's glass surface.

    I've made PNG and layered PSD files with each scanned section joined together.
    It's not perfect but shows the complete designs of the panel, speaker covers and fabric side art with enough detail to recreate them with some editing...

    https://mikucity.com/projectdiva/cabinet/scans/

    The panel shown is the spare one that originally came with the cab and has some rust on the edges, but the art is in great condition still.
     
    steelpuxnastik likes this.
  7. migra100

    migra100 Big Debut

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Are the button symbols directly on plastic or are they some kind of insert between the dome and the plastic back ?
     
  8. N10248

    N10248 Intermediate Player

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Yes, they are stickers on a thin plastic disc that fits under the dome part. They have a notch so they don't rotate.
     
    migra100 likes this.
  9. migra100

    migra100 Big Debut

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Does your arcade machine use com4? If so can you log the output while testing lights in the service menu? I'm not sure if it controls them but it has to do something and it was also used in the earlier project diva arcades without slider
     
    steelpuxnastik likes this.
  10. N10248

    N10248 Intermediate Player

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    I'll have a try tonight or tommorow, I don't think I've seen anything using Com 4 though. just 1, 10, 11 and 12.

    The older ringedge version may have them numbered differently as it has labeled COM1, 2 & 3 ports on the rear. Two would be in use by the touchscreen and card reader, leaving 1 spare for somthing else.
     
  11. migra100

    migra100 Big Debut

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I just checked and diva 1.01 and diva 6.0 used com4 for something called lamp ctrl bd. 2 weeks ago when i noticed it ft behaved like the earlier version but it's possible that i just left one of them running in the background.
    what are the other ports used for? i don't need the touchscreen but a card reader while unnecessary would be nice
     
    steelpuxnastik likes this.
  12. N10248

    N10248 Intermediate Player

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    I've had a quick look this morning, when running the game nothing apears to use COM4, i'll have to find another program to monitor it properly as the one i've used before won't work as it's expired - any recomendations?

    There's nothing in the cab called Lamp ctrl bd, even in the manual. I found this reference to it from somone usung teknoparrot:

    In the service manual the side partition lights are refered to as "lamp" so it's possible the older one has a seperate board to control them via com4, but that seems odd as the JVS I/O can easily power and control them - unless they didn't think of that on the first version.
     
    steelpuxnastik likes this.
  13. migra100

    migra100 Big Debut

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    60
    steelpuxnastik likes this.
  14. N10248

    N10248 Intermediate Player

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Never seen the old version's boot up before - interesting. I'll try again tonight, I would need to configure a serial port to be COM4 for there to be somthing to monitor right? as the game isn't creating one.

    Plus the output would be limited as the lamp board isn't there to repond / handshake with the game?
     
    steelpuxnastik likes this.
  15. migra100

    migra100 Big Debut

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    60
    i want to see other ports on bootup and see what i can do with them. even if i can't get leds like that the card reader should be easy to make
     
  16. N10248

    N10248 Intermediate Player

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    #96 N10248, Jul 13, 2021
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2021
    Got the elitima monitor one to work again...
    https://mikucity.com/projectdiva/serial/

    you might need to add the "firm" folder and its contents to the root of your project diva install folder as the game looks for this when booting to make the card reader update its firmware and be usable. The reader is a Zixsys TN32MSEC003S

    files...
    com10 is me going to card test menu and touching a card on it.
    com1 is the touch screen up to pressing the screen to start.
    com11 file is just a bit of slider use.

    com12 port present in device manager but did nothing

    No way of making com4 do anything - i changed physical com1 port to com4 so i could monitor it but nothing happened.
    I think com12 on this Nu's amex board was com4 on the ringedge maybe.

    Only way to find out is to see what port the old version of the game is using for the card reader - if somthing other than com10 on that version.
     
  17. Yuvijin

    Yuvijin Welcome to DIVA!

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    For the touchscreen to work with the original Serial connection, was there anything special you had to do in windows? I assume running PDLoader is still the way to go for playing the game? As i too have a PDFT Cab.
     
  18. N10248

    N10248 Intermediate Player

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    No, but I'm sure it needs to be a native serial port and not a USB adapter etc as I could never get mine to work with an adapter.

    If the bootup check is detecting the touch PCB ok you might want to check the cable that goes from the glass to the touch screen's PCB. It could have been damaged as when removing the cabs screen bezel the cable has to be unplugged before lifting it up too far, or it might even be unplugged.

    I use PD-loader still yes, and quite an old version too - 1.5 I think as the newer versions seem to cause some frame dropping on the limited hardware that I can't seem to resolve.
     
    Yuvijin likes this.
  19. Yuvijin

    Yuvijin Welcome to DIVA!

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Yah it’s hooked up directly to the NU native serial port.

    as you stated it does detected the pcb fine. I guess it’s possible I have a bad digitizer.
     
  20. Yuvijin

    Yuvijin Welcome to DIVA!

    Joined:
    Sunday
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    20
    Also by chance do you know if your touch screen works in the windows desktop, or only in game?

    trying to figure out for troubleshooting
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice